Letter To President Obama Dated November 2009

I decided to clean out my unnecessary WORD documents today, and as always, I read them before deleting.   I was surprised at finding the following:

MESSAGE TO THE PRESIDENT:  Subject:  Afghanistan

November 6, 2009

This is the first time I am writing to you.

I can’t imagine how difficult it is for you to be wrestling with the Afghan dilemma, but I am sure you must be suffering greatly under the burden of making a decision that will affect every American citizen all around the world for years to come.

I would like to give you my thoughts on the subject:

I am suffering also.  About the lives lost, the lives maimed and lives laid barren with the loss of loved ones.  It tears my heart and many times I am close to crying for every one of them.  And for what?  Shades of Viet Nam shadow my horizon of the future.  Details of that are not necessary to outline in this letter.  That is in the past.  So, let’s leave it there.

General  McChrystal is probably right in his assessment of the military requirements to heighten the effects of intervention on behalf of the Afghan people.  In the 8 years that troops have been deployed there, how much has been accomplished?  To me, that is the bottom line, and this question posed has, in my opinion, only one answer:  Accomplishment has been in the negative. 

As a result of much reading about the situation, I believe the following: 

  • (1) The Afghan people don’t want us there – it’s the politicians who want us there to plump up their egos and their personal pockets;
  • (2) The War Lords will always be in power, controlling the large illiterate population;
  • (3) The growing of poppies for drug trafficking will continue no matter who tries to stop it;
  • (4) The Taliban is too strongly entrenched and no matter who attempts to stop them and by what means, they will always be poised to gain control over the majority of the populace;
  • (5) The other nations are only too glad to let us keep sending our beautiful young people over there and not have theirs doing the fighting;and
  • (6) All the US Dollars that have been spent during the Bush years and this year just ending of the Obama years, could have been used to prop up our own economy which needs so much help.  Must we keep spending more to see it go for naught, in my opinion?

If I took more time right now, to think further, I’m sure I could come up with more reasons for us not being in Afghanistan.  The Russians found plenty of reasons for leaving.

I hope you will take my few thoughts to heart and mind, while you continue to mull over the Afghanistan problem.  My “bottom line” is: Leave!

I would say that if I sent this letter today, it would still be current.  What say you?

 

[ Header image from http://www.freewebheaders.com ]

 

6 responses to “Letter To President Obama Dated November 2009

  1. Those people have been killing each other for centuries and they will be killing each other for centuries to come because tribal warfare is in their DNA. Has anybody noticed that most military installations over there are built either on pipeline routes or near to them? I think the whole thing is about economic gain and nation building and we have never been successful in nation buildinig and I think we need to get our noses out of some of those more than 130 places around the globe where we have troops stationed. I think we are spread far too thin militarily and I think we need to fix it.

    Like

Make the day brighter with your comment!

