Writing letters of recommendation should be a supplement to the annual review format

Thank you to PsychologistMimi for this indepth post about reasons for recognizing the value of employees in the workplace.

psychologistmimi

The last four weeks have been a series of crazy events for me during which I have had to also think of the great attributes of my colleagues of friends as I have been asked to write letters of recommendation on their behalf. It seems to be quite an honor to be asked; or so I believe. As such I take them very seriously not only for my colleagues’ sake but also for my own. By focusing on the great attributes I get to learn a lot as well as to what I value and what I deem to be integral to a good working environment.  And for that I am grateful to have been asked to write these letters of recommendation. I have yet to say no to such a request for there is always something that can be highlighted and acknowledged.

Every employee should be valued as a…

View original post 381 more words

3 responses to “Writing letters of recommendation should be a supplement to the annual review format

  1. There is something of a karma involved in writing things that will help other people. Even the most disagreeable employee has some good about them that can — and should be — highlighted to prospective employers. The same is true of ex-employers. People looking for work should never speak ill of their former employer because if it happens to be done in an interview it can cost the job. Being positive is always the right thing to do when dealing with people because you never know … today’s opposer could become tomorrow’s best friend.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. thanks for the reblog! hope you are having a fab day! cheers Mimi

    Liked by 1 person

Make the day brighter with your comment!

