Memories of the Snowstorm – Winter 1956-1957

 

My Mom and sister had gone on ahead with some friends earlier in the day, and my Dad waited for me to finish my classes on Friday, at Kings County Hospital School of Nursing.

hospital 2

It had started to lightly snow in Brooklyn when I got into the car on that cold, blustery early evening.  We had a long trip ahead of us, and Dad told me that he was glad that Mom and Merry went on ahead, because he was a little uneasy about what was expected along the way, weather-wise.  But, he was confident that we would make it.  I think back now about that remark, because I’m not sure if he said it to reassure me or to reassure himself.

We were headed into the Catskills.  There was a place that we had gone to before, so Dad knew the way.  Good thing.

Of course, we were caught in the Friday evening traffic – although, it was lighter than it would have been; probably due to the weather forecast.  But, we got onto the highway after going through Manhattan, and we were on our way for an enjoyable weekend outing!

As soon as we got onto the mountain roads, things changed.  The snow was coming down very heavily, and the wind was pushing it at the windshield.  The wipers couldn’t go fast enough, and I don’t know about Dad, but I was very nervous.  He was quiet, so I guess he was feeling the same way.  We could hardly see.  We were blindfolded.

snowstorm 1

 

snowstorm 5

 

 

Fortunately, there was no problem with the car itself – Dad believed in taking good care of the quality engines for his vehicles; however, it was too bad that the weather didn’t believe in good quality, human-friendly weather at that time.  We forgot to put in our reservation for that.

We had some breath-holding moments, for sure, but after about 3 hours, we finally arrived safely, if not very tired, at our destination:  Rosenberg’s Hotel.

snowstorm 3

The cheapest one around:  only $5 per person, including clean rooms, clean toilets, and brunch and dinner each day.  We all had a ball!

[Images from bingdotcom]

[ Header image from http://www.freewebheaders.com ]

 

 

6 responses to “Memories of the Snowstorm – Winter 1956-1957

  1. I should mention, I hate snow. But this was a lovely memory I think.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, Valentine. Snow was part of the package of living in Brooklyn, at that time in my life. I couldn’t think of living through that kind of weather anymore; although, I have a friend in Connecticut who still goes through that every winter. This memory is just that – a memory. Not all memories are the most pleasant, as you well know, I realize, but they are still part of our lives. I write my “memory” posts mainly for my family. They like to read about my life experiences of which they knew nothing.

      Like

  2. Wow..you write so well, I could picture the entire scene. Although I love snow, the winters can become pretty brutal right? I still remember last winetr’s snow here in the east coast..it felt like a never ending winter.

    Like

Make the day brighter with your comment!

