MOHS Surgery on World Cancer Day

 

I just found out that tomorrow, Wednesday, Feb. 4th, 2015, is World Cancer Day. I’m scheduled for MOHS surgery on my nose.  Yes, my nose.  The third time.  How apropos!

My nose isn't going to be so happy after tomorrow!

My nose isn’t going to be so happy after tomorrow!

It was four and a half years ago that I had the first two – a month apart.  It was an upsetting time, for sure.  If I had known, many years ago, that my exposure to the sun would have caused basal cell cancer on my nose, or on any part of my face (I had cancer removed from my upper lip prior to the MOHS surgeries), I wouldn’t have exposed my precious skin to that killer of healthy cells.  The sun can be and is a murderer.

Tomorrow, at 9:00am, I’ll be there in Palm Beach Gardens FL for my surgery.  It will take approximately an hour (allowing for rush hour traffic on the Turnpike) to get to the surgeon’s office.  So, leaving early has made it necessary for me to change my usual Wednesday morning “ritual” to today to give a “special grooming” to my cats – Patches, Romeo and Rusty.  It’s “ear cleaning” time, added to their grooming.  Yes, they are very pampered pussycats3.  But, if nothing else, they do have clean ears!  🙂

My sister (thank you, Merry), will be accompanying me.  Moral support is not only important; it is necessary.  I was told the surgery will take about 3 hours this time.  It’s really not the surgery that is upsetting me (but I’ve been having nightmares at night about it lately).  It’s the anesthesia that is horrible.  PAIN!

After the surgery, my next step in the process is to the plastic surgeon, who will close the wound.  This is an added precaution, because the cancer has appeared right on the scar line of one of the past surgeries.

So, I’ve been preparing for tomorrow.  In my (organizing) way.  I’ve compartmentalized the day – tomorrow – in my mind.  I want it to be completely free of any other concerns.  I do have a bit of OCD – I firmly believe it’s a family trait:  affecting some more; and some a little less.

ocd

It’s as if I’m going on a vacation, and I have to make sure the house is in tip-top shape.  Laundry, fresh linens on the bed, etc.  Dishwasher will be run this evening.  It all gives me a free mind to prepare myself for tomorrow’s ordeal, and for the recovery days afterward.

One more thing:  Lunch.  Must eat, right?  Sandwich for Merry is ready, and I will fix my usual salad for myself.  If I have to keep the plastic surgeon waiting until lunch is consumed, so be it!

sandwich

 

[Images from bing dot com]

 

2 responses to “MOHS Surgery on World Cancer Day

  1. Carol I was the same way,my house had to be ready for my eye surgery….it was nice to come home and not need to do anything but rest!
    Wishing you a smooth surgery and a fast recovery!

    Like

Make the day brighter with your comment!

