When I Must Leave You

Many years ago, when I lost my first husband, Danny, someone gave me a poem, thinking it would help, in some measure, to ease his passing.  It was a very thoughtful gesture; however, at the time, I couldn’t fully appreciate its power.

I do now.  Danny, it was twenty-two years ago today, when you passed into another dimension.  It is today, and every day hereafter, that I can appreciate the power of this poem.  It is as if you were speaking to me:

When I must leave you

For a little while–

Please do not grieve

And shed wild tears;

And hug your sorrow to you

Through the years.

But start out bravely

With a gallant smile;

And for my sake

And in my name

Live on and do

All things the same.

Feed not your loneliness

On empty days;

But fill each waking hour

In useful ways.

Reach out your hand

In comfort and in cheer

And I in turn will comfort you

And hold you near;

And never, never

Be afraid to die,

For I am waiting for you in the sky!

sky

 

Make the day brighter with your comment!

