About Laura Hillenbrand

 

21hillenbrand-articleLarge-v2

Some years ago, I happened upon a book entitled, “Seabiscuit.”  It was a fantastic find:  I gorged on every word; not wanting to put it down.  Who was this Laura Hillenbrand?  I had never heard of her, but her name poured out of my mouth every time I was with someone and we got to talking about books and authors.

seabis

And, several years later, the movie appeared.  I had to see it.  I was disappointed.  The story was told in a way that did not project the intimate details that were revealed in Laura’s words.

I lost track of Laura; probably because she didn’t write another book soon after “Seabiscuit” was published.  “Unbroken” was published in 2010.  I was not aware of it; if I were, I would have read it.

unbroken-pb

Now, Laura’s second best-seller has been moved to the “big screen.”  And directed by Angelina Jolie.  I will see that movie when it appears in the theaters in just a few days.  There has been so much hype about it.  I plan to read the book, and am expecting to be drawn in to the story of Louie Zamperini, competitive runner, and his experiences during World War II while serving with the United States Army Air Corps.

Laura Hillenbrand has overcome great odds in writing her wonderful nonfiction stories:  She has been a patient suffering with M.E. (Myalgic Encephalomyelitis) for more than 25 years!  Unfortunately, she is mostly housebound and cannot travel; however, she has devised her special ways to write in spite of her illness.

Thanks, Tom Kindlon, for posting the link to the NYTimes-magazine article by Wil S. Hylton, on Google+.  It’s long, but well worth the read.  Laura Hillenbrand is truly an amazing woman!

Make the day brighter with your comment!

