Hello To My New-Found Family

Scientists looking across human, fly and worm genomes find shared biology

According to a report by the National Institutes of Health (NIH):

“Researchers analyzing human, fly, and worm genomes have found that these species have a number of key genomic processes in common, reflecting their shared ancestry.”

Lately, I started wondering why, as I progress with this aging thing (it’s just my body, not my mind!), I’ve been noticing changes.

Have you ever paid attention to how fastidious a fly can be?  (Not that we usually sit and watch a fly – we look around for a fly swatter, and hope the fly hasn’t flown away in the meantime and, if it’s still there, hesitate to smash it into our food.)

fly 3

When it isn’t buzzing around, looking for some crumbs to steal off your bread that you have meticulously slathered with butter, it always takes the time to give itself a fantastic grooming, starting with its legs and then carefully rubbing its wings.  Is that why I am progressing in my OCD?  I seem to be spending more time cleaning and grooming than I used to.  Also, like the fly, I won’t leave a crumb on the plate.

Now, it’s a very disagreeable thing to think that we have anything in common with a worm, of all things!  Just thinking of a worm, squirming in the dirt, getting away from the rain-soaked soil, is more than enough to never look in a mirror again.  And especially staying indoors when it rains.  Related.  Indeed!

I like fish, but I can’t imagine a relative of mine being bait on a fish hook, to reel in the unsuspecting fish.  Ugh!

worm

You know what?  I’ll just make believe I never found the article.

 

 

[images from bingdotcom]

6 responses to “Hello To My New-Found Family

  1. Very funny blog Carol – thanks for the laugh!

    Like

  2. Just think of all the things human and not so much we share the earth with and possible other things.

    Like

Make the day brighter with your comment!

