Global Health: Time to Pay Attention to Chronic Diseases

I subscribe to many government newsletters and blogs.  One is the NIH (National Institutes of Health) Director’s blog.  His name is Dr. Francis Collins.

Today, I read Dr. Collins’ post about a global initiative, Global Alliance for Chronic Diseases (GACD).  The headline,

Global Health: Time to Pay Attention to Chronic Diseases

really caught my eye.  Of course, my first thought was, “M.E. is a chronic disease, it is also a global chronic disease.”

The members of the GACD are:  the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, China, and India, South Africa, Brazil, and the European Union.  They are meeting in Shanghai as I write.

However, my good feelings quickly found themselves dashed as a pumpkin would feel if it fell off the farmers’ truck onto the paved road on the way to market.  I mean – smashed!

Dr. Collins went on to write:  “While infectious diseases remain a significant problem in the developing world, cancer, heart disease, obesity, diabetes, and other non-communicable diseases are now among the fastest growing causes of death and disability around the globe. In fact, nearly three-quarters of the 38 million people died of chronic diseases in 2012.”

My thought:  “And add the more than 20 million sufferers of M.E. to that, plus the uncounted number who suffer from fibromyalgia, POTS and others I can’t think of to name right now.  We’re talking about a big chunk of the world’s population.

I don’t know if Dr. Collins will take the time and trouble to answer my comment on his post.  Here is my comment:

“A very interesting post, Dr. Collins. I was not aware that the NIH helped form the initiative, Global Alliance for Chronic Diseases (GACD). Non-communicable diseases (NCDs) have not been targeted much, as far as I can see from all my reading, and am taking heart from this report, that there will be a much greater focus. You must be familiar with “M.E.” (myalgic encephalomyelitis). It is also called, “CFS” (chronic fatigue syndrome), which, according to all experts, clinicians, researchers, patients and advocates, is a great misnomer, as it certainly is much more than “fatigue.” Since M.E. is a NCD, as far as anyone knows, will the GACD have this disease on its agenda anytime soon? My daughter has M.E., so I have a personal interest. I send letters to President Obama every month, describing M.E., and how it affects the lives of more than 17 million people globally, with more than 1 million in the US alone. If this isn’t a catastrophe, I don’t know what is. BTW, if you could help us out within the NIH and HHS, we surely would appreciate some more focus and funds for research for M.E.  Thanks again.”

4 responses to “Global Health: Time to Pay Attention to Chronic Diseases

  1. I also thought you were going to finally impart some inspired words from the NIH. Oh well…

    Like

  2. Keep writing those excellent letters Carol!

    Like

  3. Truly well done. Keep up the good work

    Like

Make the day brighter with your comment!

