Eek! A Mouse!!

Our short term house guest.

Our short term house guest.

One of the blogs I follow is Reality or Bust.  I just made a comment on her blog, in answer to her post titled, “Mice..”  It occurred to me that I could use my comment as a blog in my “Memories” archive, since it brought up an event in my life – nothing too extravagant, but a memory, just the same.  I wondered if anyone else might enjoy reading about it.  So, here it is:

“Reality, I just enjoyed reading this blog so much!  Loved finding out about all your animals.  Such a variety – wow.  I can understand that having mice in your house can be a great distraction, to say the least.

I have had one event concerning mice in my life. It concerns our first cat after we moved to Hicksville.  Her name was ‘Morris’.  Yes, she turned out to be a girl, as we found out after Lloyd (my son) named her. 

Dan (my husband at the time) and I had a houseful of guests one Saturday night, and it was getting warm in the house.  So, unbeknownst to me, someone opened up the back door screen.

Morris wandered into the house, and I think she was surprised to find so many people there.  She proceeded to give us all her ‘present’ right in the middle of the living room.  A mouse!  And it was alive!  I can’t describe all the screaming that ensued!  However, the poor thing didn’t move.  It was totally frigid with fright.  And I think Morris was totally frightened, but not frigid.  She summarily picked up the mouse in her mouth, and ran outside. 

That was the first and last time Morris graced our house with a ‘gift’.”

 

[Image courtesy of bingdotcom]

4 responses to “Eek! A Mouse!!

  1. Poor Morris — its such a downer when people don’t “get” our gifts! ha!

    Like

  2. Morris did gift us with kittens! 🙂

    Like

Make the day brighter with your comment!

