Coping with Chronic Illness: Your Life Is Not Over.

There are many people who suffer chronic disease. My daughter is one. My very special daughter is one. This blog that I am reblogging, will, I hope, be a source of some comfort to those in this world. If you are reading this reblog, and know someone who has a chronic disease, please have them read this inspiring article.

A rainbow at night

I received a message asking for advice from a person who was new to chronic illness, having just found out they had late stage Lyme disease. In construing a reply, I came up with a bunch of things I wished someone had told me. For a good book to accompany you on this road, I once again recommend How To Be Sick.

The first thing I believe most people want to know when they get sick, is that their life isn’t over. You’re scared, and you think your life cannot continue unless it continues on the path you were already on before the illness arrived. I offer you my compassion.

Things ARE going to change, but I assure you, your life isn’t over. I ask you to consider that it never even paused at all. Your plans might have changed, but life is still happening, which I’m sure is…

View original post 810 more words

5 responses to “Coping with Chronic Illness: Your Life Is Not Over.

  1. Oh, your comment has touched my heart so much! I’m truly blessed by your encouraging words, and I sincerely thank you for them and for wanting to share my post. You’ve made my night, and the energy in writing it worthwhile. Thank you so much.
    Kit

    Like

    • You are so welcome, Kit. We all need encouragement, and especially those who suffer as the chronically ill do. If they are suffering, we as parents and close family and friends, are also suffering along with the patients. Crying on the inside, smiling on the outside. What else can we do? Encouragement and acceptance is what we need to do. Your blog is absolutely inspiring. Thank you so much.

      Like

  2. I see this a lot in my line of work. I work in the HIV field and the range of emotions people experience at first diagnosis is astounding. however, the comfort of knowing that life is not over is key. I heard a woman talk about she wasn’t dying of AIDS, she was living with it.

    Like

Make the day brighter with your comment!

